book recommendations

i would like some book recommendations:

a good story,

something inspring,

or

something to challenge my faith.

love.

5 responses to “book recommendations

  1. I don’t know what you might like to read (I did read through your posts), but I always advocate for A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving. This is easily my favorite novel. There is no character in literature more compelling and unique than Owen Meany. How can you go wrong with a book that begins, “I AM DOOMED to remember a boy with a wrecked voice – not because of his voice, or because he was the instrument of my mother’s death, but because he is the reason I believe in God; I am a Christian because of Owen Meany.” The theme is predestination, Irving uses some “earthy” language and situations, and this novel will at least make you think about your faith.
    donstuff

  2. Irving is always a good read. May I also humbly suggest my novel, An Island Away? It will challenge you in your outlook about the Caribbean as it reveals the “other side” away from the beaches and hotels. You’ll find excerpts and links through my blog at http://www.bentpage.wordpress.com. Thank you for your consideration.

  3. um, let’s see, something to challenge your faith..
    one of my favorites is Dead Run by Erica Spindler. it’s not really a Christian book, or anything. it’s a mystery/suspense fiction, but the overall message is a good one.
    it’s kinda cheesy, but in the end, it kind of challenges you to think about how far you would go or what you would endure for what you believe in.
    it was a page turner and i recommend it if you like mystery type books.

    also thanks for the comment. we DEFINITELY had lots of fun!

    may the Lord bless you in all your days to come.
    Brittany

  4. ok, sorry for writing another comment, but another book that i love and definitely recommend (if you haven’t already read it) is Into the Wild (by John Krauker <i think that’s how you spell his name).
    it’s the nonfiction true story that inspired the movie and was the first nonfiction book that i could not put down.
    it’s just amazing. sad, funny, inspiring. i love it. you should check it out.

  5. Hi. I don’t know you, but I found you via Heather Whitakker’s blog. I just wanted to let you know that I think you should read Crazy Love by Francis Chan. It’s amazing. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

